Multicultural Film Festival

An annual short film festival that explores diversity and multiculturalism through films that make us think and touch our hearts.

Film has a unique capacity to connect audiences to other points of view. Though we may have different backgrounds, when we immerse ourselves in stories of cultural heritage and identity, it’s easy to see that there is more that unites us than divides us.

The Multicultural Film Festival (formerly the VMC Film Festival) showcases short films that explore stories of diversity and inclusion. 

Each year, our shortlisted films feature characters who are encountering new ways of life, struggling with feeling isolated in a new country or within their cultures' traditions, or beginning to embrace and celebrate their difference.

Ranging from gentle childhood fables to more stridently political works, all are strong examples of the power of storytelling in creating dialogue and initiating understanding.

Watch our 2019 winning films on SBS On Demand. These impressive films explored the theme 'making diversity great again'.

Our thanks to SBS for their support of this burgeoning film festival.

Call for entries 

The call for entries will be announced in February 2020.

We support emerging filmmakers from diverse backgrounds and also invite submissions from filmmakers of any background to produce films that explore multiculturalism and promote social cohesion. 

Proudly hosted in partnership with Swinburne University of Technology, the Multicultural Film Festival 2020 will feature new categories including one for primary school students. 

Our 2019 festival 

Explore past winning entries

Watch a collection of winning short films from previous years.

Sponsors and partners

The Multicultural Film Festival would not be possible without the support of our sponsors and our partner, Swinburne University of Technology.

Reviewed 23 January 2020

Was this page helpful?