Victorian Multicultural Awards for Excellence

We recognise, celebrate and appreciate outstanding Victorians and organisations for their service to multicultural Victoria.

Recognising the ways Victorians strengthen multiculturalism

The winners of the 22nd Multicultural Awards for excellence have now been announced.

The Multicultural Awards for Excellence formally recognise people and organisations who have fostered cross-cultural understanding and supported those with migrant, refugee and asylum seeker backgrounds to fully participate in all aspects of Victorian life.

2023 recipients


Nandita ChakrabortyWinner
The Social StudioHighly Commended


Comm Unity Plus Services LtdWinner
All Ears HearingHighly Commended

Community Innovation

Wellsprings for WomenWinner
Theresa Sengaga SsaliHighly Commended


Early childhood education
City of Casey Best Start Cultural Communication Improvement TeamWinner
ViệtSpeakHighly Commended
School education
River Nile SchoolWinner
Debney Meadows Primary SchoolHighly Commended
Vocational Education and Training (accredited training)
VU Together Against Racism Working GroupWinner
Vocational Education and Training (pre-accredited community-based training)
River Nile Learning CentreWinner
BSL Cross Cultural ConsultancyHighly Commended

Emergency services

Victorian State Emergency Service Greater Dandenong Unit Winner


PRIME - Program for Refugee Immunisation Monitoring and EducationWinner
Silva NazaretianHighly Commended


Northern Community Legal Centre and South-East Monash Legal ServiceWinner
Eastern Community Legal Centre & Eastern HealthHighly Commended

Local Government

City of Greater BendigoWinner
SALDHIG ProjectHighly Commended


iMPACT MagazineWinner
Can We Talk About It?! PodcastHighly Commended

Premier's Award for Community Harmony

Cultura Pako Festa 2023Winner
Ian Green OAMHighly Commended


Police Annual Multicultural Award
  • Leading Senior Constable Heath Williams
  • Detective Senior Constable Tana Griffiths
  • Inspector Dean Clinton
Police Community Exemplary Award
Ms. Brooke Harding – Ramadan Care Packages Winner
Police Multicultural Media Award
Diversity Recruitment Program Media Campaign Winner
Police Annual Protective Service Officer Multicultural Award
  • PSO Sergeant Pushp Sidhu
  • PSO Sergeant Simarpal Kaur

Refugee advocacy

Free to FeedWinner
Bendigo Karen Youth NetworkHighly Commended


City in the CommunityWinner
Bendigo Community Health ServicesHighly Commended

Youth Leadership

Rhea WernerWinner
Bendigo Karen Youth NetworkHighly Commended

Victorian Multicultural Honour Roll

This year, the Victorian Multicultural Honour Roll is celebrated with MAE's.

Honour Roll recipients

  • Naba Masad Alfayadh
  • Ayesha Bux
  • Giuseppe Cannata
  • Rana Ebrahimi
  • Ruwangi Fernando
  • Farhat Firdous
  • Rabbi Yaakov Glasman AM
  • Kyriakos Gold
  • George Gregorio
  • Bekim Hasani
  • Eva Hussain
  • Siegfredo M. Jover
  • Gurinder Kaur
  • Arfa Sarfaraz Khan
  • Dr Raj Khillan
  • Manzoor Ahmad Mian JP
  • Edward Joseph (Eddie) Micallef
  • Nawal Kishore Moudgil
  • Mohamed Hadi Omer
  • Asvin Phorugngam
  • Nola Radiotis
  • Hadi Saab
  • Helen Stamoulis
  • Kaja Starinskas
  • Mannie Kaur Verma
  • Deepak Vinayak OAM
  • Gloria Yuen



The VMC thanks our sponsors for the Victorian Multicultural Awards for Excellence 2023: