Freedom of information: Victorian Government

Find publicly available Victorian Government information and understand how to contact a department or agency to make an FOI request.

The Freedom of Information Act 1982 gives you the right to apply for access to documents held by government agencies and ministers. You can also apply to amend personal information about you held by government agencies.

Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner

OVIC is the primary regulator and source of independent advice about how the public sector collects, uses and discloses information. Visit the OVIC website for information about freedom of information (FOI), including:

FOI Part II statements (publicly available Victorian Government documents)

Information statements under Part II of the FOI Act provide an overview of the types of documents held by departments and agencies and how you can access the information you may require. They are designed to help you locate publicly available information. 

You'll find an organisation's Part II information statements on their corporate website (links below).

If searching for a specific topic that you can’t find in the information statements, you can try asking via the department or agency’s customer service centre.

Freedom of information requests

You can request access to documents held by the Victorian Government by submitting a freedom of information (FOI) request and paying the non-refundable application fee.

Each department and many agencies have their own FOI unit and some have different process.

Department and agency FOI contact details can be found on the Office of Victorian Information Commissioner website.

Department FOI information

Below are links for department-specific information about FOI processes and links to Part II statements where available.

Department of Education

Department of Environment, Energy and Climate Action

Department of Families, Fairness and Housing

Department of Government Services

Department of Health

Department of Justice and Community Safety

Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions

Department of Premier and Cabinet

Department of Transport and Planning

Department of Treasury and Finance